Since 1986, 16 countries have stopped Guinea worm transmission: Nigeria, 2008; Niger, 2008; Burkina Faso, 2006; Cote d'Ivoire, 2006; Togo, 2006; Benin, 2004; Mauritania, 2004; Uganda, 2003; Central African Republic, 2001; Chad, 1998; Cameroon, 1997; Yemen, 1997; Senegal, 1997; India, 1996; Kenya, 1994; Pakistan, 1993.

\*Total includes an isolated outbreak in Chad (10), and Niger reported three imported cases from Mali.